Committees and Groups

As a congregation grows, one way for its members and friends to stay connected is to become involved in smaller groups within the larger congregation. Our affiliate groups give us opportunities to strengthen relationships with others. Newcomers are always welcome.

Affiliate Groups

As a congregation grows, one way for its members and friends to stay connected is to become involved in smaller groups within the larger congregation. Our affiliate groups give us opportunities to strengthen relationships with others. Newcomers are always welcome.

Amnesty International Action Circle
Coordinator: Colin Read
amnestyinternational@grandriverunitarian.ca

Climate Action Group
Coordinators: Kathy Mostardi and Carol Burrows
climateactionchair@grandriverunitarian.ca

Earth Spirit Circle
Coordinator: Melissa Rockenfield
melrock@outlook.com

UU Stitch Circle (fibre based crafts)
Coordinator: Jessica Bayne
info@grandriverunitarian.ca

Women’s Book Group
Coordinator: Lynda MacLeod
womensbookgroup@grandriverunitarian.ca

Communications

Communication is vital in the life of a busy congregation. Our newsletter and web site provide information on every aspect of congregational life. Every event and opportunity provided to the congregation can be found in these sources.

Website
Coordinator: Martin Edmonds
website@grandriverunitarian.ca

Weekly Window Newsletter
Editor: Kristen Wilson
manager@grandriverunitarian.ca

Congregational Life

The life of our congregation is sustained through attention to the needs of our members and friends. These groups foster community, support, and spiritual growth within the congregation.

Pastoral Care Support
Coordinator: Nanci Phelan
heartsandhands@grandriverunitarian.ca

Community Builders (welcoming newcomers and building community)
Coordinator: TBD

Lay Chaplaincy (offering wedding and other celebrations)
Officiant: Susan Patterson
officiant@grandriverunitarian.ca

Social Action
Contact Person: Pat Bowers
socialaction@grandriverunitarian.ca

Congregation Learning & Resources

Our third principle speaks of our encouraging one another to spiritual growth. It is a priority in our congregation to provide opportunities for growth at every level, from the very young to the very experienced.

Archives (maintaining the history and artifacts from our congregation)
Archivists: Jack Horman and Jane Wilson
archives@grandriverunitarian.ca

Children’s Religious Exploration
Co-Directors of Religious Exploration: Kate Urquhart and Cecilia-Marie Macdonald
dre@grandriverunitarian.ca

Library
Chair: Charlotte Innerd    
library@grandriverunitarian.ca

QUEST (Adult Spiritual Exploration)
Chair: Janis Collins    
quest@grandriverunitarian.ca

UU Whatevers (Youth Religious Exploration)
Contact: To be determined
youth@grandriverunitarian.ca

Property

Our congregation is fortunate to have a building with generous parking and a lovely stand of trees. These groups organize the maintenance and use of our congregation's property.

Building and Grounds
Coordinator: Diane Oliver-Jensen
buildingandgrounds@grandriverunitarian.ca

Rentals (facilitate rentals of our facilities)
Coordinator: Kristen Wilson, Office Manager
rentals@grandriverunitarian.ca

Sunday Support

Many hands work to create a worship service that enlightens and uplifts. Some are evident in the service. Some operate in the background. All contribute to a successful Sunday morning.

Green Ribbon Welcomers (greet newcomers during at Sunday worship services)
Coordinator: Jessica Fleguel
welcomers@grandriverunitarian.ca

Audio Visual Team (coordinate and maintain equipment, provide audio/visual support)
Coordinator: Sophie Wilson
media@grandriverunitarian.ca

Music (provide music on Sundays and special events with the Music Director)
Chair: Margaret Insley or Stephen Preece
music@grandriverunitarian.ca

Hospitality (work in the kitchen providing refreshments)
Coordinator: Rosemarie Harris
hospitality@grandriverunitarian.ca

Ushers (at Sunday worship services)
Coordinator: Ellen Forrester
ushers@grandriverunitarian.ca

Worship Arts (plan Sunday worship services)
Coordinator: Rev. Jessica Rodela
minister@grandriverunitarian.ca

Board Support

The board of trustees guides the congregation's vision and ensures that its obligations as an organisation are met. It is able to do this with help from staff and the volunteers that support its work.

Board of Trustees
President: Charlotte Innerd - president@grandriverunitarian.ca
Vice-President: Cathy Scott - vicepresident@grandriverunitarian.ca
Secretary: Wendy Martin - secretary@grandriverunitarian.ca
Treasurer: Art Phelan - treasurer@grandriverunitarian.ca 
Members-at-Large: Tom Nagy, Penny Grace, and Carol Burrows

Committee on Ministry (support the minister and life of the congregation)
Chair: TBD
com@grandriverunitarian.ca

Human Resources (hires and supports congregation staff)
Coordinator: Margaret Insley
hrcommittee@grandriverunitarian.ca

Nominating Committee (facilitates the nomination of leaders in the congregation)
Chair: Margaret Insley
nominations@grandriverunitarian.ca